Skip to main content

The Ultimate List of Allergy Friendly Candy

Looking for allergy friendly candy for trick or treaters or as a treat to bring to your child's class? These candies are free from many of the top eight major allergens.
kid holding teal pumpkin filled with allergy free candy
Updated: May 23, 2023

While Halloween is an exciting holiday, it can also bring about the added stress of needing to check candy ingredients for parents of children with food allergies. 

More: The Spookiest Vampire and Witch Names for 2019

    There are initiatives such as the Teal Pumpkin Project that have increased awareness of food allergies and promote inclusion of all trick-or-treaters. However, not all people giving out candy on October 31st are prepared with a teal painted pumpkin or other resources on hand, so parents still need to be diligent about investigating candy ingredients. Many candies contain several of the top eight allergens, which are:

    • Wheat
    • Egg
    • Peanut
    • Milk
    • Soybean
    • Nut
    • Fish
    • Shellfish

    Don't have time to read now? Pin it for later:

    list of allergy free candy

    There are a number of brands which are dedicated to creating allergy-free candy options, many of which are also safe for vegan or gluten-free diets:


    All of YumEarth’s candy offerings -- which includes lollipops, gummy bears, and sour jelly beans -- are free from the top eight allergens and are gluten-free. In addition, many of their products are certified USDA organic or vegan. 

    Enjoy Life Foods

    Enjoy Life Foods takes top eight allergens a step further and eliminates sulfites, lupin, mustard, casein, sesame, and crustaceans and offers a line of seasonal mini chocolate bars perfect for all trick or treaters.

    Wholesome Organic

    You won’t have to worry when your trick-or-treaters return home with seasonal snacks from Wholesome Organic, made from USDA organic and vegan ingredients! Plus, they’re free from ten of the top allergens. 

    If you’re unable to find some of the specialty brands (above), there are also mainstream candies available which families can count on during the spooky season for an allergy-free treat:


    Dots are free from the top eight allergens, and are made in a peanut, tree nut, and wheat/gluten free facility. 


    Smarties are safe from top eight allergens, and are also gluten-free and vegan! Be mindful that their candy is sold to “re-baggers” and outlets who may repackage the candy, but if the UPC number on packaging begins with “0 11206,” it was packaged on-site in a top allergen free facility.

    Sour Patch Kids

    They may be sour, but they’re sweet when it comes to proper labeling! Sour Patch Kids are free from top eight allergens, as well as sesame and mustard.

    Looking for more Halloween inspiration? Check out these Our Favorite Trunk or Treating Decorating Themes.

    Jacqueline Weiss

    About Jacqueline

    Based in Los Angeles, Jacqueline is a freelance writer and social media strategist. She… Read more

    Join the Family

    Your partner in parenting from baby name inspiration to college planning.